When you choose to remove your old Gmail account, there is a pop up telling you that this account will be permanently erased. Although this sounds like recovering your account will be impossible, there is a way to recover your old Gmail account, provided you are quick enough and follow these steps. So if you erased your Gmail account and then you suddenly changed your mind (or if you erased the wrong account) don’t panic and follow these simple steps to get your account back.
How to recover your old Gmail account
First things first: this method will only work if your Gmail account hasn’t been erased for longer than two or three weeks. After that period of time, your account is gone for good. But if you still have time, then just do the following:
Go to Google’s support page. When in there, you will be asked some security questions, which you will have to answer correctly. Once you have proved Google that you are, in fact, the owner of the erased account, you will have to introduce one of your passwords. This won’t always be your last password; it can be your first, or any of the passwords you have use don that account. In some cases, you will also be asked to give them your phone number.
After all these steps, you will have your old Gmail account back. And by this we don’t mean just the account: you will keep all of your sent and received emails, your Google Drive files, your preferences on YouTube and Google Play Store for that account, and all the rest.
As you can see, this method is surefire only if you recover your account before Google removes it. So always be careful and think about your choice before removing your old Gmail account. It is a permanent move and, after some time, you won’t be able to get it back.